Gregor Townsend reiterates belief that Sam Skinner grounded ball on the try line and that Scotland should have beaten France
: PA/Andrew Milligan
Scotland will seek clarity from World Rugby over the dramatic final decision to not award them a match-winning try at Murrayfield.
Although head coach Gregor Townsend conceded that any feedback would be of little consolation after Saturday’s 16-20 defeat by France, he suggested that the referee on the field, in this case Nic Berry, should have had more of a definitive say on the match-deciding final review.
A WILD ending to Scotland vs France as the visitors just about hold on to win ????Was the right decision made? ????#GuinnessSixNations #SCOvFRA pic.twitter/u08VCGcLoK
Reiterating his belief that replacement lock Sam Skinner had grounded the ball on the try line after it was initially held up on the leg of Yoram Moefana, Townsend said: “The TMO influenced the referee more with the final call. They have quite a big screen in that corner, so it should be the referee that decides.
More from Rugby Union
More from The Telegraph